Top facebook2x Top twitter2x Top youtube2x Top phone2x 01260 224557 (unmanned) Top search2x Basket Login
☰ More

RYA National Awards

The RYA Volunteer Awards were introduced in 2002 as "sailing's very own MBEs, recognising and applauding the vital contribution made by individuals working at the grass roots of the sport". In the first year, 38 awards were made across the UK in three areas - Services to Training, Services to Racing and Services to Club. Redesmere's own Roger Alexander was one of the first recipients in the Training category.

Initially launched as the RYA Community Awards, the categories for the awards were changed slightly when the awards were re-branded as the RYA Volunteer Awards, but they are still only presented to "outstanding individuals for their exceptional commitment and services to boating at club or grass roots level." Currently the Award categories are:

Lifetime Commitment - someone who has shown exceptional commitment and dedication to their club or organisation for at least 15 years.

Outstanding Contribution - someone who has volunteered for less than 15 years but who has none the less made a significant contribution. This could be a single or 'one-off' contribution.

Youth - someone under the age of 25 on the 1st October who has demonstrated a regular commitment and/or inspirational contribution which is over-and-above their own participation or achievement within the sport.

Simlarly, the RYA Sailability Awards recognise the contribution by people and organisations who have made a real impact to sailing with disabilities. Currently, an award is made each year in each of seven categories, including:

Exceptional Contribution - someone who, over a considerable period, has shown exceptional commitment and dedication to boating and getting people on the water, no matter what it takes.

Volunteer of the Year - a volunteer who has given significant time and energy over the course of the year, or towards a specific project, who went above and beyond and who is a real ambassador for all that Sailability represents.

Young Person of the Year - a young person (under 25) who has shown significant commitment to boating and progressed not only their own skills and knowledge but has encouraged and supported others.

Sailor of the Year - A sailor(s) who has or have achieved considerable success or made significant progress on the water in the year.

Since their introduction, the following Redesmere members have received RYA Community or Sailability Awards;

2002Roger AlexanderServices to Training
2007Wilf FordLifetime Commitment
2008Peter BaldwinLifetime Commitment
2008Andy MillingtonOutstanding Contribution
2008Tim LoweYouth Award
2009Tim BakerLifetime Commitment
2009Gary LoweOutstanding Contribution
2009Brenda LoweOutstanding Contribution
2010David WainwrightLifetime Commitment
2010Robert EastcottOutstanding Contribution
2015Rachel WardOutstanding Contribution
2015Geoff WestonLifetime Commitment
2016Chris WhiteLifetime Commitment
2018Stuart CampbellOutstanding Contribution
2019Gary LoweRYA Sailability Exceptional Contribution
Marjorie White
Martyn Ward
Lifetime Commitment
Outstanding Contribution
    Top facebook2x Top twitter2x Top youtube2x
    © 2024 Redesmere Sailing Club powered by Sailing Club Manager